New York, USA – Day 1

I decided to make New York my opening post for two main reasons:

Making a somewhat rash and impromptu decision to head over to New York to experience countdown and have a different new year to 2015, this trip happened because of a chance to have travel mates and able to bunk in with this friend who has been working at New York for a period of time. Great amount of thanks to these two awesome people, I shall keep their names as MS and GS for their privacy. :):):)

Secondly, this is one of my most unforgettable new years that I have experienced: Simply because this is my first time to New York and first time spending my new year at a foreign country other than the one where I am born and live in – Singapore!

Lastly, this was my last holiday trip before my decision to head to New Zealand for a working holiday this coming June!

I had a slight bump at the head-start of my trip and had dreaded that it was not a good sign. I flew via Singapore Airlines touching down at John F. Kennedy International Airport with my luggage missing for about 45 minutes before it finally appeared at the designated conveyor belt. From what I could remember, about 20 over passengers are affected (mainly those who flew from Singapore and transited at Frankfurt airport). MS commented that it was a pity I could not start my shopping trip right away at the airport for my necessities (roll eyes).

With this delay, GS kindly helped to takeaway this nice spicy chicken bowl and Mexican quesadillas from nearby (can’t recall where – will update if I asked GS again) while we got settled at her awesome apartment in Manhattan. We took a metered cab (around USD 50-60) to Manhattan from the airport.

As shown in the shots: Taking subway metro to Times Square as our first stop. You may use a printed subway map to help you with the lines and directions to take or simply use maps online if you have data. E.g. If you are coming from Lexington Avenue 59th Street, take the uptown Q line to 49th Street and walk ~2 minutes to reach the must-see attraction: Times Square. Video clip of some of the shot from departure to end of my first day in NYC:

The food from the video (dried stingray fin, spicy rayu ramen and miso ramen) are from Totto Ramen for my dinner, a very delightful one from the winter chill outside:

Totto Ramen

366 W 52nd Street (Bet. 8th & 9th Ave) New York, NY 10019 (212) 582-0052

Opening Hours: Mon – Sat: 12:00pm – 4:30pm; 5:30pm – 12:00am. Sun: 4:00pm – 11:00pm

Published by

JP

Always holding a curiosity to learn and experience life; this simple blog serves the purpose of penning down my travels and about the simple and wonderful things in life - to dream, to love, to eat (of course not forgetting to drink and most importantly; breathe and be healthy)

Leave a comment